Race season is nearly upon us!

Posted: March 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

It seems like just a few weeks ago that I was crossing a finish line! Well, the excitement is starting to ramp up and my teammates in the South are hitting the race courses for a couple of early season Half and Full Marathons; but the real fun starts in May with our first ½ Ironman event in Knoxville Tennessee! I just wanted to say a quick THANK YOU’s to those who have helped me getting prepared and providing some great equipment for what I hope will be a fantastic season. 15 races across this wonderful nation of ours means I need good stuff.

First to Carole Sharpless! Our fearless leader on Team Trakkers. Without Carole, our team would be a bunch of meandering nomads looking for a race without understanding. In the words of Forrest Gump “Momma always says there’s an awful lot you could tell about a person by their shoes. Where they’re going. Where they’ve been. I’ve worn lots of shoes. I bet if I think about it real hard I could remember my first pair of shoes.” I’m guessing Carole is wearing Avia running shoes right now.

Recovery Pump: More to come on these guys, but all I can say is WOW! I have been using their compression boot and it is nothing short of working miracles after my legs take a beating!

Kestrel: I was super excited to see what the Kestrel 4000 Pro SL SRAM Red could do, and I am truly impressed. After a winter of being on the trainer, I was getting doubtful that I had worked so hard and didn’t see much gain. Well, I got outside this past week and quickly realized that the hard work and an incredible bike has improved my speed thus far by 4-5mph!

SBR Sports: All I can say is my body thanks you for not smelling like Chlorine and itching all the time now! My hair and my wife’s hair thank you as well.

Revolution 3: Charlie, thank you for the opportunity to show others what a great program Rev3 puts on! You guys blow away the competition and have the best quality races on the face of the planet!

Avia: I was uncertain whether a flat footed person could pull off wearing Avia. I am pleasantly surprised that my feet are actually in better shape than on my prior long time “other brand”. If you think shoes don’t matter, then you’ve never run anything long enough to discover just how important the right shoe is.

 

Comments
  1. Jamie says:

    I am knee deep in the same feeling brotha.

    I went to a mutlisport expo this weekend and am AMPED to start racing! I booked my whole race calendar hours after I got home.

  2. Jamie says:

    I am knee deep in the same feeling brotha.

    I went to a mutlisport expo this weekend and am AMPED to start racing! I booked my whole race calendar hours after I got home.

  3. Colleen Kingery says:

    🙂 Knoxville is going to be a great time! And yep, we’re all pretty darn lucky to have the support we have – be it from the sponsors, the team, Carole, Charlie, our family, and friends!

Leave a Reply

